top of page

Breaking the Fall 

A trilogy of experimental documentaries: 10:45


Breaking the Fall is a trilogy of experimental short films, created in collaboration with my mother, Cherrie Beaney. The films reveal embodied, personal and social experiences of illness, care and interdependence that are often over-shadowed by dominant medical, doctor-patient relationships. Within the context of our mother-daughter relationship, we explore how illness and care is enacted in the familial setting, drawing upon Johanna Hedva’s (2015) 'Sick Woman Theory' to ‘take seriously’ everyday acts of care which are historically feminised and therefore made invisible."

Collaborator: Cherrie Beaney

Music (02:03 - 06:09): Alabaster dePlume

Research and Development Funding thanks to Stellar Quines and BOP Theatre

bottom of page